U.S. expands options for families seeking to immigrate

The program is available to certain individuals from Latin American nations

Legal migration to the United States has been a major issue in recent years. Recently, the U.S. government has taken steps to expand asylum and legal migration options for citizens of certain countries who are in Mexico.

In addition, a humanitarian family reunification permit program has been implemented for citizens of Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

In this article, we will discuss how to obtain a humanitarian family reunification permit as an option for legal migration to the United States, focusing on the processes and requirements involved.

Expanded asylum options for certain countries

White House Homeland Security Advisor Jake Sullivan recently announced that the United States will expand asylum options for Cuban, Haitian, Nicaraguan and Venezuelan nationals in Mexico.

Applications will be accepted from up to 30,000 people of these nationalities, granting them a work permit valid for two years, as long as they have not crossed the border of the United States, Mexico or Panama since the beginning of January 2023.

If you are a current petitioner and you believe you may be eligible, please make sure the National Visa Center (NVC) has your current contact information and mailing address. To update your contact information and address, contact the NVC through their Public Inquiry Form

This measure seeks to establish "legal channels" to regulate immigration and curb the massive arrival of migrants at the southern border of the United States.

Resettlement of refugees in Mexico

As part of the bilateral collaboration, Mexico has accepted refugee resettlement referrals for qualified persons from these countries who are already in Mexican territory.

This represents a significant step, as it is the first time Mexico has allowed the repatriation of third country nationals at its border. In addition, Washington's "full support" has been expressed for a multifunctional international space that the Mexican government plans to establish in the south of the country, providing new labor and shelter options for the most vulnerable people there.

Humanitarian Family Reunification Permit Program

The U.S. Department of State has announced the implementation of the humanitarian family reunification permit program for citizens of Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

This program will allow citizens or permanent residents of the United States to request that their family members in these countries enter the United States under a humanitarian permit.

The program's implementation process began on July 7, and invitations will be sent to petitioners identifying family members who meet the requirements to be considered for the reunification program.

Categories of family ties eligible for immigrant visas

The family reunification immigration process is based on two main categories of family ties eligible for immigrant visas: immediate relative and family preference.

The immediate relative category has an unlimited number of visas for immediate relatives of U.S. citizens, such as spouses, unmarried children under the age of 21, and parents.

In the family preference category, a limited number of visas are allocated annually for other relatives of U.S. citizens, such as married children, siblings or cousins, as well as spouses and unmarried children under the age of 21 of lawful permanent residents.